An Introduction to Charlotte

For those of you who don't know, my name is Charlotte, and I am the person behind Fruitbat Textiles!

Fist of all I'd like to thank you all for following me along on this crazy journey that is my little craft business. Its been an amazing (nearly) 5 years and I can't thank you guys enough for your support. Whether this is your first time hearing about us, or you've been with us from the start, every single one of you are the reason we are able to keep going!

Anyway, I thought it was about time I properly introduced myself over here on the website/ blog!

(Photo by Rachel Bragg Photography)

My name is Charlotte Martin and I am 30 years old. I have a degree in Textiles for Fashion and Interiors, specialised in woven textiles from the University for the Creative Arts in Farnham.

I started Fruitbat Textiles on a part time basis after I graduated from university in 2015. The choice to start it part time was mainly just to save myself the stress of having to take out a big scary bank loan or anything like that. I've always been very aware that what I do is quite niche, and so there was no guarantee this would be a successful venture, though I've always been pretty determined I'd make it a success!!

I've loved textiles for as long as I can remember. My mother taught me to cross stitch when I was just 5/6 years old, I still cross stitch now as a way to wind down in the evenings. As I grew up and learnt more and more textiles skills (either self taught or through education) the more and more I fell in love, and the more I knew I wanted to make it my career path, not just a hobby.

So where did 'Fruitbat' come from? I get asked this a lot. Fruitbat is a nickname one of my uncles gave me when I was a baby. No one remembers why, not even him, but it stuck! And this is where my business name came from.

I realise I've talked a lot about me as a professional here and how I got to where I am and less about who the person behind all that is, so here's a little more about me away from the textiles:

I ride a motorbike, and have for nearly 10 years. I grew up around bikes, my parents and various other friends and family ride so it was quite a natural choice for me. I don't have a driving licence, just my bike licence so it is my only form of transport.

I am the eldest of 4 children. You will find my three younger siblings feature as models in my product shots. See if you can spot them!

I live on my own with my cat Tux! (I can't take credit for the name, she used to belong to one of my uni friends. But she is mostly black with a little white bib!)

I am a bit of a 'metalhead' according to most people!! I listen primarily to Rock, metal, grunge and blues music. And I LOVE live music!

(My Dad and I at British Summer Time festival at Hyde Park a couple of years ago. I go to quite a few gigs with my Dad!!)

When I'm not in my studio I like to be out in the countryside appreciating the changing landscapes, visiting national trust properties, finding new inspiration and breathing in the fresh Somerset air. I find nature very humbling.

I like to go to the gym, I mainly enjoy weight and resistance training. Sometimes the business and life gets in the way, but when I do go it really helps keep my motivations levels high and I love seeing and pushing what my body is physically capable of.

Lastly, before I bore you all to tears!! Another hobby of mine is photography. If textiles didn't work out for me for one reason or another, Photography was my back up.

Well done if you got to the end of this! Sorry if I've waffled on too much, I don't really like talking about myself to be honest but I also know how much I love reading about the people behind my favourite brands and businesses, so I hope this scratched that itch for you guys too!!

Hope you are all keeping well and taking care of each other in these strange times.

Much love

Charlotte X

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

STAY CONNECTED

BE OUR FRIEND

NEED ASSISTANCE?

07525618653

fruitbattextiles@gmail.com

 

  • Fruitbat Textiles Facebook
  • Fruitbat Textiles Twitter
  • Fruitbat Textiles Pinterest
  • Fruitbat Textiles Instagram

© 2017 by FRUITBAT TEXTILES